What Is CMM Model?

To define and estimate the maturity level of the company as for the development process, the special model of “technical maturity” - Capability Maturity Model - is used. This is a  methodology for designing and improving software development process.

This model was created in 1986, due to the mutual forces of the Software Engineering (SEI) in America and Mitre Corporation.

CMM model describes the maturity of the company itself, based on its projects and clients. According to this model, 5 maturity levels are defined on the basis of the key process areas. Each level evaluates the organization, according to the process standardization at certain subject areas.

What are the levels of CMM model?

  • Initial, ground
  • Organized, repeatable (level of realization)
  • Defined (level of consistency)
  • Managed (metrics level)
  • Improvement level (optimizing)

Each level represents certain information and consists of the preparatory series of various process areas. The achieved universal and specific goals which were set for each area underlie the estimation of the particular level of maturity.

What are maturity levels?

  • The framework for defining the priority of actions.
  • This is the way to specify what improvements for the organization are.
  • The common language and mutual vision of the picture in general.
  • The point to start.

The specialists who perform software testing of different kinds (mobile application testing, the control of web applications and systems, desktop testing with autotests or manually) should be also familiar with the CMM model peculiarities.